Department of Mathematics

PhD Programme "Mathematics in Industry and Commerce, MIC"

Description of the Programme

The MIC programme was launched in 2006. Like the predecessor programmes MSc Industrial Mathematics and the Sandwich PhD programme Industrial Mathematics, it is funded by the DAAD. For students from developing countries, the programme provides the opportunity to do a PhD in applied mathematics. Each year, four to five new scholarship holders can be selected for the programme. The condition for funding is that the countries of origin of the scholarship holders are classified as developing countries according to the OECD, ie they are listed in the annually updated DAC list. The DAAD scholarship covers the cost of living, travel expenses, a health insurance subsidy, and generous support for accompanying family members.

In the programme, the doctoral candidates preferably work on mathematical modeling problems that are directly related to their home country. The optimal control of water networks or traffic flows, evacuation problems, development of earthquake-resistant concrete parts, simulation of the spread of diseases or new methods of financial and actuarial mathematics are only a few of the many fields of research. All research groups of the department accept applicants for the MIC programme.

The doctoral programme MIC is designed for three years and always starts in October. A preparatory German course in August and September is funded by the DAAD and is binding.

Admission requirements are an excellent Master's degree in mathematics as well as very good knowledge of the English language. In addition to belonging to one of the qualifying countries of origin, the DAAD requires two years of relevant professional experience. Only applicants who have been in Germany for a maximum of one year at the time of application, ie who have been in Germany for a maximum of two years at the start of the programme, can receive funding.

The application is made via the Graduate School of the Department of Mathematics. The same regulations apply as in the doctoral programme Mathematics. Application deadline is January 15th.

Zum Seitenanfang

Fachbereich Mathematik

Promotionsprogramm "Mathematics in Industry and Commerce, MIC"


Programmbeschreibung

Das MIC-Programm startete 2006. Wie auch die Vorläuferprogramme MSc Industrial Mathematics und das Sandwich PhD Programm Industrial Mathematics, wird es vom DAAD gefördert. Studierenden aus Entwicklungsländern wird durch das Programm die Möglichkeit geboten, in angewandter Mathematik zu promovieren. Jedes Jahr können vier bis fünf neue Stipendiaten für das Programm ausgewählt werden. Fördervoraussetzung ist, dass die Herkunftsländer der Stipendiaten laut OECD als Entwicklungsländer klassifiziert, also in der jährlich aktualisierten DAC-Liste aufgeführt sind. Das DAAD-Stipendium umfasst die Lebenshaltungskosten, die Reisekosten, einen Zuschuss zur Krankenversicherung sowie eine großzügige Unterstützung der mitreisenden Familienangehörigen.

Im Promotionsprogramm arbeiten die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden vorzugsweise an mathematischen Modellierungsproblemen, die einen direkten Bezug zu ihrem Heimatland aufweisen. Die Optimale Steuerung von Wassernetzwerken oder Verkehrsströmen, Evakuierungsprobleme, Entwicklung erdbebenresistenterer Betonteile, Simulation der Ausbreitung von Krankheiten oder neue Methoden der Finanz- und Versicherungsmathematik sind nur einige der vielfältigen Forschungsgebiete. Alle Forschungsschwerpunkte des Fachbereichs akzeptieren Bewerber für das MIC-Programm.

Das Promotionsprogramm MIC ist auf drei Jahre ausgelegt und beginnt stets im Oktober. Ein vorbereitender Deutschkurs im August und September wird vom DAAD gefördert und ist verbindlich.

Zugangsvoraussetzungen sind ein ausgezeichneter Masterabschluss in Mathematik sowie sehr gute Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache. Neben der Zugehörigkeit zu einem der qualifizierenden Herkunftsländern verlangt der DAAD zwei Jahre einschlägiger Berufserfahrung. Gefördert werden können nur Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die sich zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung maximal seit einem Jahr in Deutschland aufhalten, also bei Programmbeginn seit maximal zwei Jahren in Deutschland sein werden.

Die Bewerbung erfolgt über die Graduate School des Fachbereichs Mathematik. Es gelten die gleichen Regelungen wie im Promotionsprogramm Mathematik. Bewerbungsschluss ist jeweils der 15. Januar.

 

 

Zum Seitenanfang