Algebra, Geometry and Computer Algebra Group

Software in mathematical research

Mathematical research is currently showing two significant trends: Research is becoming more and more interdisciplinary, and at the same time, research questions are increasingly requiring computational methods to cope with the emerging complexity. Many researchers use modern computer algebra systems and collections of mathematical data.

In the working group the systems SINGULAR, ANTIC, Hecke and Nemo as well as the comprehensive system of the next generation OSCAR are developed.

SINGULAR

Singular is a computer algebra system for polynomial calculations with a special focus on commutative and noncommutative algebra, algebraic geometry, and singularity theory. With Singular, the long-standing tradition in the development of world-leading computer algebra systems at the University of Kaiserslautern has been established.

ANTIC, Hecke und Nemo

ANTIC, Hecke and Nemo are new software projects of number theory, which focus on calculations in and with number fields and certain finite rings. They are written in the programming languages C and Julia.

OSCAR

All existing systems together with the external systems GAP and Polymake are to be integrated into the new comprehensive computer algebra system OSCAR developed within the framework of the SFB-TRR 195. This will achieve a next-generation system. The goal is to sustainably enrich worldwide mathematical research through this tool.

Zum Seitenanfang

AG Algebra, Geometrie und Computeralgebra

Software in der mathematischen Forschung

Die mathematische Forschung zeigt momentan zwei signifikante Trends: Die Forschung wird mehr und mehr interdisziplinär und gleichzeitg erfordern Forschungsfragen immer öfter rechnerische Methoden, um die aufkommende Komplexität zu bewältigen. Viele Forscherinnen und Forscher nutzen morderne Computeralgebrasysteme und Sammlungen mathematischer Daten.

In der Arbeitsgruppe werden die Systeme SINGULAR, ANTIC, Hecke und Nemo, sowie das umfassende System der nächsten Generation OSCAR entwickelt. 

SINGULAR

Singular ist ein Computeralgebrasystem für polynomiale Berechnungen mit speziellem Fokus auf Fragestellungen der kommutativen und nicht-kommutativen Algebra, algebraischen Geometrie und Singularitätentheorie. 

Mit Singular ist die langjährige Tradition in der Entwicklung weltweit führender Computeralgebrasysteme an der TU Kaiserslautern begründet worden.

ANTIC, Hecke und Nemo

ANTIC, Hecke und Nemo sind neue Softwareprojekte der Zahlentheorie, die sich auf Berechnungen in und mit Zahlkörpern und bestimmten endlich dargestellten Ringen fokussieren. Sie sind in den Programmiersprachen C und Julia geschrieben.

OSCAR

Alle bestehenden Systeme zusammen mit den externen Systemen GAP und Polymake sollen in das neue im Rahmen des SFB-TRR 195 entwickelten umfassenden Computeralgebrasystem OSCAR integriert werden. Damit wird ein System der nächsten Generation erreicht werden. Ziel ist es, durch dieses Werkzeug die weltweite mathematische Forschung nachhaltig zu bereichern.

Zum Seitenanfang